March 16, 2009

Sunday Update

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:02 am by limitedcredit

It seems that I did not have much time to write this week since I was very busy with my CGA exam and family dinners (we had three over this weekend!). However, I have the time right now to give a small update as to what has happened during this week.

  1. I put another $78 into my TD Waterhouse RRSP account which brought the cash balance over the $400 limit, therefore enabling me to purchase another $100 in each of the four index funds I own.
  2. I added $60 to the vacation fund bringing the total balance to $120.
  3. If you noticed, I removed the Playstation 3 from the want fund because my wife wanted to buy it for me or least help me buy it so she suggested we create an envelope and put cash in there which will be solely for the Playstation 3.
  4. Derek Foster, who advocated living off investment income, sold off all his stocks. He says that he is just making a temporary portfolio adjustment until the market stabilizes then he intends to go back into the market. My opinion on this is that he should not have sold any of his stocks; in fact, this would be the best time to buy more shares which will in turn increase dividend income.
  5. We were invited to a dinner Friday night, took my wife’s cousin and her husband (another newlywed couple) out for dinner on Saturday, were invited to a lunch today, and dinner today by different people in honour of our wedding, which kept us busy.
  6. Due to a cancellation on Saturday for a lunch, my wife and I took advantage of the free time and the better weather to just spend the day out.

All in all, I can say that this weekend was a lot of fun and I had not felt this relaxed in a long time. Well, back to work tomorrow so let’s see what the week brings us.

Leave a Reply

